Divisions: Berlin Wall, Past and Present
  • Home
  • Events Leading Up to the Building
  • Building of the Wall
  • Escape Tactics
  • Leading to the Fall
  • Fall of the Wall
  • Master Outline
  • Bibliography
  • Expand Menu For More Items

    What Do You Think?


    Search berlinwall.itgo.com


    Following the war, on October 7, 1949, The United States of America, Britain, France, and Russia divided the land in question into four sectors. Each Sector was under control of a different country. The United States, Britain, and France joined there sections together to form a democratic state. This state was called The Federal Republic of Germany or West Germany. The Russian or Soviet part became a communist state. This state was called The German Democratic Republic of East Germany. This division between the two sectors is what Winston Churchill classified as the "Iron Curtain."


    (c) 2001 Nathan Wolski All pictures and graphics are reproduced with permission of owners and are under copyright of there respective owners.